Work and a blessing?

Work last night was chaos!  We had so many admits, almost at once it seemed.  Another patient was trying to circle the drain.  I had one that was at the end of her life.  That’s what I want to make a comment on.

She suffered.  Prolonged illness and her body was tired.  We did what we could to make her comfortable.  Halfway through my shift she passed.  Her family was so awesome!  What just floored me, though, was that at the same time she went, a baby was born in OB.  I’ve heard it said when one life leaves another takes it place.  I see miracles like this frequently with my career.  There are days I wonder why I ever chose nursing but when things like this happen I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Time is short, count your blessings and embrace them daily!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

