My first husban…

My first husband I met in high school.  My oldest brother was married to his sister and that’s how we got to know each other.  He was a prom date (I was desperate to go!) and we clicked.  We were together for 5 years.  We were married for the last 9 months of our relationship.

He is an alcoholic and that is what destroyed our marriage.  The disease for him was stronger than our love.  I left but didn’t quit caring about him.  He was/is a different person when he drinks and isn’t nice to be around when he is drinking.

His oldest brother is a doctor on a reservation here in Minnesota.  He tries to be a support for S.  It isn’t easy, I’m sure.  S. got married after our divorce and had two kids.  He was so deep into his alcoholism it destroyed that marriage as well.  His wife got full custody of the kids and changed their last name to her maiden name.  Apparently the kids have had no contact with their father because their were conditions to his visitation that he could never meet. His son has contacted his brother and his brother wrote an open letter to him.  My heart breaks for this son.  I’m sure it’s been difficult.  But I’m also glad that we didn’t have kids and that I don’t have to deal with that damage.  I hope that his son finds the answers he needs.  I hope that S. gets a grip but at this point I doubt he will be able to so.

http://indiancountrynews.net/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=12544&Itemid=1

Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

